To all Administrators,
On June 1, 2021, we will start upgrading your users who have the “Chat and classic Hangouts” service setting selected to “Chat preferred,” unless you explicitly opt out. As a reminder, the “Chat preferred” setting was launched last year in the Google Workspace Admin console.
After June 1, 2021, we will upgrade any “Chat and classic Hangouts” setting users in your domain to “Chat preferred.” The “Chat and classic Hangouts” setting will be removed unless you opt out of the upgrade. Users who already have “Chat only,” “Chat preferred,” or “Classic only” selected, or users who have both services turned off, won’t be affected.
Google Chat will replace classic Hangouts as the default chat application for your affected users. This automatic upgrade will start rolling out on June 1, 2021, and may take up to 2 weeks to complete. The “Chat and classic Hangouts” setting will later be removed.
If you don’t take any action, all users in your organization who have the “Chat and classic Hangouts” setting selected will be automatically upgraded to “Chat preferred” over the course of 2 weeks. The “Chat and classic Hangouts” setting will also be hidden and no longer accessible.
For more details about this launch, see this article in the help center.
For more details on the Chat transition experience and other known limitations, please review the Chat Transition Help Center.
If you have questions or need assistance, please contact Google Workspace support. When you call or submit your support case, reference issue number 183514280.
Or use your S&E Support : email@example.com